Home » For Whom the Bell Tolls » Nov I 36 Insurgent aka. the “Santander Disaster”

Nov I 36 Insurgent aka. the “Santander Disaster”

This turn we did online which gave me a bit less time to plan for my actions and I went more with my gut-feeling than usual (as if I ever plan anything in advance, bah).

I wanted to see if I could overrun Lorca, but due to mud (weather roll was no change up north = mud and clear (which will mean mud for the rest of the year) in the south) the artillery couldn’t make it. As the Germans have not extended the autobahn network this far south, even the roads are difficult going for artillery, 4 MPs per hex. To accumulate this failure, I even forgot to attack Lorca in the Combat Phase!!! *bangs head on keyboard*

Up north I pretty much just started forming my lines and keep pushing the Loyalists to their main areas. I decided to have a go at the Santandero as they’re the weakest of the Gobernitos. I gathered all units I could muster. BBTF and CATF provided naval fire support and Junker Ju 52s and Brequet 19s flew ground support. The defenders kept their ground, refusing to yield in the face of air support and hugged the walls of the city (dot city +1 modifier negated the enemy air support -1 modifier and the militia check was just barely a Normal. The attack was then conducted at 2:1 odds, with a -2 modifier for mud. Attacker halved. Ouch, that hurt.

Another rule misread so far… naval units replenish at Naval Bases. I’ve been replenishing them in any ol’ port – mostly it has been in Ceuta (which is a Naval Base) when the number of MPs has counted, other times the task forces would have had enough MPs to make it to El Ferrol etc.

Northern front is reeling from the Santander Disaster. South advances slowly.

Northern front is reeling from the Santander Disaster. South advances slowly.

 

Leave a Reply

