Home » For Whom the Bell Tolls » August II Insurgent – Time to Stick My Head in the Nest of Hornets

August II Insurgent – Time to Stick My Head in the Nest of Hornets

Naval units are giving me grief. I had this great plan to bring my Italian submarines and conduct a raid in Santander – sinking the Northern Fleet of the Loyalists. Only after I had moved into the Bay of Biscay (and having suffered one hit from the Danger Zone of Cartagena (another 4 VPs to the Loyalists solely due to my own stupidity) I noticed it cannot be done. The subs turned tail and fled… err relocated into Melilla.

I need to start taking care of those small pockets of enemy units, and to start putting the Gobernitos into their rightful place, on their knees at my feet. Asturia is going to be too hard, so let’s start at the other end. But first the western parts. There were three ground battles this turn. First, 7th Cavalry regiment, 2nd Engineer regiment and 3rd Light Artillery regiment with air support destroyed the enemy 3rd Infantry regiment losing only the Cavalry regiment in the process – Half Exchange, but at least half of 1 is still a 1. Badajoz area still has one enemy unit left. It’ll meet its doom next month.

1st Cordoban Infantry brigade and 1st heavy artillery regiment managed to push 18th Civil Guard security regiment out of its defensive positions further away from Jaen (Defender retreats).

Then the hornet’s nest part. Having gathered a lot of units in Euzkadi area meant that the Basque garrison units will pop on map this turn anyhow, so might as well get rid of the People’s Army units standing outside Bilbao. Gathering a lot of units and then assaulting into the wooded rough area hoping that militia reliability would allow them stand and fight. Two Cavalry regiments, three mountain infantry battalions and two artillery regiments (one of which is mountain artillery) made short work of People’s Army’s Engineer regiment and mountain infantry battalion (half exchange, one mountain infantry battalion was lost).

Next turn I get to see what kind of evil did I let loose in Euzkadi.

End of Insurgent Turn Aug II 1936

End of Insurgent Turn Aug II 1936

Leave a comment